• Release Date: 20th March 2018
  • Format: Blu-ray
  • Starring: Susannah York, Rene Auberjonois, Cathryn Harrison
  • Directed By: Robert Altman
Share this:

The early seventies were a period of remarkable activity for Robert Altman, producing masterpiece after masterpiece. At the time he came to make Images, MASH and McCabe & Mrs. Miller were behind him, with The Long Goodbye, California Split and Nashville still to come.

Originally conceived in the mid-sixties, Images concerns a pregnant children’s author (Susannah York, who won the Best Actress award at the Cannes Film Festival) whose husband (Rene Auberjonois) may or may not be having an affair. While holidaying in Ireland, her mental state becomes increasingly unstable resulting in paranoia, hallucinations and visions of a doppelgänger.

Scored by an Oscar-nominated John Williams, with “sounds” by Stomu Yamash'ta (The Man Who Fell to Earth), Images also boasts the remarkable cinematography of Vilmos Zsigmond (Close Encounters of the Third Kind).


Brand new restoration from a 4K scan of the original camera negative, produced by Arrow Films exclusively for this release
High Definition Blu-ray (1080p) presentation
Original English mono audio (uncompressed LPCM) soundtracks
Optional English subtitles for the deaf and hard-of-hearing
Audio commentary by Samm Deighan and Kat Ellinger
Scene-select commentary by writer/director Robert Altman
Imagining Images, an archive featurette with Altman and cinematographer Vilmos Zsigmond
Brand new interview with actor Cathryn Harrison
An appreciation by musician and author Stephen Thrower
Theatrical trailer
Reversible sleeve featuring original and newly commissioned artwork by the Twins of Evil

FIRST PRESSING ONLY: Illustrated collector’s booklet featuring new writing on the film by Carmen Gray and an extract from Altman on Altman

SRP: $39.95

  • Details

    • Region: A
    • Rating: R
    • Cat No: AA025
    • Duration: 101 mins
    • Language: English
    • Subtitles: English SDH
    • Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
    • Audio: Mono 1.0
    • Discs: 1
    • Color